Since 1998 the leading source for traditional martial arts

HomeIntroductionCurriculumsClass SchedulesInstructorsLocationNewsArticlesMedia Links



Kids & Teens Kung Fu

Adults Shaolin Kung Fu

Taijiquan (Tai Chi)

Qigong (Chi Kung)

Xingyi (Hsing-I Chuan)

Bagua (Pa Kua Chang)

Thunder Yoga

Sparring - San Shou

Self Defense

Wu Shu San Shou Dao

Weapons - Wu Qi

Martial Arts Tumbling















  • Testing Procedure and Requirements for

  • Kids and Teens in Traditional Wu Shu/Kung Fu Program

The Kids & Teens’ program is divided into eight levels (八段 Ba Duan) signified by the sash/belt ( Dai) ranking of colors from white-beginner's to black-advanced. Each belt is further identified by one to three stripes. Before achieving the belt of the next color ranking, the student must first be tested for each "tip" or stripe ( Ji). After the third stripe is awarded, he or she is then qualified for the next belt test.

Originally, the idea of wearing the belt came from Shuai Jiao (摔跤 Chinese Wrestling). The purpose of the belt worn was to support the back and stomach muscles and to hold the Qi ( energy) in the Dan Tian (丹田 center of waist). Today the same purpose of wearing belts is used by construction workers or any people physically involved with heavy lifting.

Traditionally, new wrestling students would wear white clothes (including belt), which they washed through the years, but not the belt. Eventually, the belts would turn black. The common saying, “Watch out for the wrestler with the black belt!” represented the awareness of the years of experience the owner of the belt had.

Our school uses the color ranking of this system, which purpose is to give the students recognition for their hard work, to classify, motivate and challenge to the next sash/belt level, but also, at the same time, maintaining the true purpose of the sash – to support/strengthen and protect the waist – as the first priority. 


The style taught in the kids and teens' program is Shaolin Changquan (少林 Shaolin Long Fist). The main characteristics of the Shaolin Long Fist are expansiveness and gracefulness in posture and agility and speed in movement. Long Fist perform to the extreme of their length. They move fast, jump high and far, and combine hardness and softness, fast and slow motions, and stillness. The movements of long fist are quick, powerful and rhythmic. Their generation of energy is forceful, and the origin and outlet of the energy are clear.

Shaolin Changquan is more suitable to youngsters who can enhance strength, speed, agility, elasticity and endurance through exercise and practice. It helps develop the physique and teach the techniques and skills in offense and defense.


Program Curriculums are divided according to students' age:
  • [  Little Dragons  4 - 6 years old
  • [  Young Tigers  7 - 12 years old
  • [  Teens - Young Adults  - 13 years old & up 

[ Black Sash Advanced Training [

After a student has been awarded a Black Sash/Belt ( Dai), he/she will then begin advanced and more intensive training, which expands his or her knowledge and skills in more complex and difficult styles.

This training is divided into fifteen advanced levels. Before achieving the next level, the student must first be tested, and passing the test is signified by the stripe placed on the sash.

The training covers styles such as: Piguaquan 劈掛拳, Bajiquan 八極拳, Fanziquan 翻子, and Chuojiao 戳腳. The student will also learn hard and soft Qigong 氣功, Tie Shen (鐵身 Iron body) or Tie Bu Shan (鐵布衫 Iron Shirt), Dian Xue (點穴 Cavity Press), Martial Arts Tumbling/ Acrobatics (翻滾跳躍Fan Gun Tiao Yiao or 雜技 Zha Ji) and numerous weapons (器械 Qi Xie), as well as more concentration on practical usage and applying techniques in San Shou ( Free Sparring).

The advanced training may also cover other optional individual training and styles, which are not included in the advanced fifteen curriculum levels program. He/she may learn Gaoji Changquan (高級長拳 Advanced Long Fist), Emei System (峨嵋 Emei Mountains Boxing), Ditangquan (地躺拳 Ground Tumbling Boxing), Xiangxingquan (象形拳 Imitating-fighting Styles) – which consists of a great number of styles, such as Eagle Claw (鷹爪 Yingzhao), Praying Mantis (螳螂拳 Tanglangquan), White Ape (白猿 Baiyuen), Snake Style ( Shexingquan), Drunken Boxing (醉酒拳 Zuijiuquan), and White Crane (白鶴 Baihe), as well as the internal arts of Taijiquan (Chen and Yang styles of Tai Chi Chuan, Xingyiquan (形意拳 Hsing I Chuan), and Baguazhang (八卦掌 Pa Kua Chang).

When this training is completed, and the fifteenth level is awarded, then the student will again be wearing a plain black sash, just like before starting this advance training, - this symbolizing never-ending learning. At the same time he/she will be qualified as a Master Level Instructor.


Copyright © 1998 - 2011 Athletic Balance, LLC. Chinese Martial Arts. All Rights Reserved. 32 Nagog Park, Acton / Littleton, MA, 01720 USA